Any Day That Includes…

20Aug11

This is a good day.  Any day that involves Sunfish, water, sailing, and family is a good day.  Got them all today. :D

Local state park + Granddad’s two Sunfish + sun in the summer = I’m happy.

My dad and brother rig the second boat… about to hoist the mainsail.  I love sailing jargon. :-)

Both boats ran at full capacity (two people each!) all afternoon.  The wind was perfect for learning to sail, and those whose memories of the Avalon bay with Granddad are more photographic than concrete did a great job handling both the main sheet and the tiller.  Nobody capsized!  I think we may be ready for a day where the wind is a little stronger…

My brother and I head out for one more spin – this time I got to pilot!  (Though I did enjoy “instructor” role on earlier trips – nothing like lounging on the bow giving suggestions!)

Great place to sail – only a short drive from my parents’ home!  Open water, prevailing winds, easy launch sites… Good stuff.

Next time I want to sail until the sun dips a little lower…

Thank you, Lord, for mini vacations!

3 Responses to “Any Day That Includes…”

  1. 1 Sam

    Wow, that reminds me of summer afternoons on the lake with my aunt’s Sunfish! Very cool. Great way to learn sailing… to Mysteristan.

  2. 2 Susanna

    if only Mysteristan weren’t land-locked… :-)

  3. 3 Sam

    Okay, okay… metaphorically speaking.


Leave a Reply

