My Favorite Things

15Jun11

I LOVE the beach.  And I’m really loving my camera…  We’re on vacation this week – probably the last family vacation before I head overseas.  It’s bittersweet, but we’re enjoying the fabulous weather at the shore.

We’ve been having interesting dinner-table conversations.  Last night each of us had to give an oral book report on what we read during rest time.  Tonight we had to write poetry and then read it aloud for the family.  Tomorrow night is our “art show” (pr*y for me!!!).  After dinner, we’ve been going for beach walks to watch the moon rise over high tide.  It was a full moon tonight – stunning.

I’m not usually one for poetry, but here’s what I jotted down on the back of an envelope to share at dinner:

To laugh and be down by the sea

with sun, wind, waves – together, three;

With arms upraised while running free,

I sing with joy my destiny.

To join the Lord in glorious work

to take His name to all the earth;

And thus fulfill His promise true,

that all God’s children, old and new,

will someday number more than these:

the grains of sand that bed the seas.

So listening now to Him I raise

this my doxology of praise.

His hand upon me guides and stays

His perfect plan through all my days.

Whatever in the world I see,

yet remains, for all of me:

There is no place I’d rather be,

than praising Jesus by the sea.

2 Responses to “My Favorite Things”

  1. So glad you got the time off to be with your family at the shore, Susanna! Love your heart that shines through the poem you wrote. Looking forward to watching God unfold the next steps for you!

  2. 2 Jodi Knapp

    Susanna, what a pleasure to read your musings. You are a wonderful and unique woman; we are fortunate to have shared your musical talents.

    The Knapps


Leave a Reply

