Losing Sight of Me

06Jul10

So Sunday was our first Ryken-less Sunday at church… sad, quiet, and coming the middle of beginning to process SMI.  Dr. Liam Goligher (senior pastor at Duke Street Church, London), who has been a guest preacher at Tenth over the past several summers, was preaching from II Corinthians 3 on the Glory of God (one of the most enlightening sermons I have EVER heard – still digesting).  Anyway, he closed with this poem…

Indwelt

Beatrice Clelland

Not merely in the words you say,
Not only in the deeds confessed,
But in the most unconscious way,
Is Christ expressed.

Is it a beatific smile,
A holy light upon the brow?
Oh no, I felt His presence while
You laughed just now.

For me, ’twas not the truth you taught,
To you so clear to me so dim,
But when you came to me you brought
A sense of Him.

And from your life He beckons me,
And from your heart His love is shed,
Till I lose sight of you and see
The Christ instead.

Lord, that this might become true of me!  (And yes, of course, I had tears streaming down my face…)

No Responses Yet to “Losing Sight of Me”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

