If I Had a Dollar…

30Mar10

…for every time someone said to me, “Maybe you’re called to Philly…” I’d probably have most of my support raised to go overseas by now. :-)

I can tell you this: today I’m called to Philly.  I love this city – I love my church, love my work in the city, love having friends in North, South, and West Philly.  I see the needs.  It’s not hard to see the needs when you take the El to Kensington and Allegheny…  Every now and then I do let a little of the “what if” stuff run through my head – and I wonder what life would look like if things changed and I were called to Philly indefinitely.

Life is quite different from what I imagined it would be.  Five years ago, I thought by 2010 I would be a midwife and/or on the mission field and/or married.  No, no, and no.  Ha!  (Though I am making progress on the missions front!)  If the Lord decides to change the direction I think I’m going again, I’ll just get to spend some extra time praying for grace. :-)

Ultimately, I’m called to Jesus – not to Philadelphia, or to be a nurse, or to work overseas.  Everything except Christ has to become peripheral.

“Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:12-14)

Today I will follow Him.

One Response to “If I Had a Dollar…”

  1. Susanna, if you read about Enoch (he’s the second one listed in Genesis) you will find that nothing is said about him except that he walked with God. Most of those talked about in the OT did great things. Why not Enoch? It also says that God was pleased with him. So many of us think we have to do something for God. What He really wants is for us to commune with Him. This is why He created us, for fellowship. If we focus upon drawing close to him all the rest falls into place.

    Don’t get frustrated that you may not know where you are going. Besides, that may not be where you end up. Most people who make such comments think in terms of doing rather than worshipping personally. It really does not matter if you leave or stay, go or come. What is important is that you learn to walk with God.

    Ken & Maggie


Leave a Reply

