Where on Earth…

16Mar10

The big question since Candidate School has been…

Okay, Lord, where are you sending me?

I’ve followed to this point – the zig-zag path to get here was certainly not what I would have chosen at the outset, but looking back, I wouldn’t change a thing about how the Lord has worked (I wouldn’t even change things that I still sometimes call “mistakes” – midwifery school, job changes, etc. – because without those things, other things just wouldn’t have had the chance to happen!).

In a general sense, I know where I’m headed.  Anybody who checks out Interserve’s website can see that our motto is “Servants for the hard places.”  So I know that I’m going somewhere not-easy.  I haven’t a clue what that not-easy looks like right now (culture? amenities – like running water and electricity or the lack thereof? language? dominant religious group? it could be a lot of things…), but that’s probably God’s grace. :-)

When I do find out where I’m going, it’s very likely that I won’t be able to disclose my target country for security reasons.  This obviously adds another whole dimension to prayer.

I’m hoping to find out sooner than later where I’m going.  At CS, three of my fellow candidates were headed to the same country (a young couple and a single gal who’s finishing up her residency).  In addition, three Interserve partners who visited and spoke during CS serve in this same country.  By the middle of CS, it was a standing joke that I’d be going there, too. :-)  We each had the opportunity (ahem, requirement) to present a little personal background and our vision for “our” various countries on the last day of CS.  I presented on Mysteristan. (The creativity behind that needs to be duly credited to another CS classmate who helped me capture my dilemma with one word.)

Right now, all I can do is pray.  My information has been sent out to “priority countries” (five of them) and if there’s not a significant response there, my info will get sent to the International Office of Interserve – and then to country leaders.  This is an exciting time, but I’m also looking forward to knowing – so that I can read and research and learn as much as I can ahead of time.

Pray for me!

No Responses Yet to “Where on Earth…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

