10 for 2010

02Jan10

New Years Day is one of my favorite days of the year.  It’s a day to reflect and plan, review and revise, rest and pray.  I had a lovely day yesterday – spent with family and friends. :-)

At the end of the day, I finally opened my new ESV Bible.  It was a Christmas gift, as my trusty KJV/Reina-Valera is literally falling to pieces.  For fun, I decided I would read whatever passage was marked by the ribbon in addition to what I was already planning to read.  So… the Bible opened to Jeremiah 29.  I already love that particular chapter of Scripture.  And after last night, I think I’ll plan to read Jeremiah 29 every New Years Day.

Over the past few weeks, the Lord has given me several verses for 2010.  There’s a lot that could potentially happen this year – I’m excited most of the time, but also a little apprehensive.  So I need these reminders that the Lord knows what He is doing with my life.  Here are my “theme verses” for this new year:

“You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13)

“If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31)

“Behold, I am making all things new!” (Revelation 21:5)

“Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” (Ephesians 3:20-21)

And now…  here are 10 hopes/plans/resolutions for 2010.

  1. Read through the Bible. :-) (This year in English!)
  2. See if the 100-Hours-of-Prayer “rule” really works – more than once. ;-)
  3. Set aside time (at least two or three days) each month to fast.
  4. Read at least 10 books (I’ve already picked them out!!).
  5. Memorize 10 specific chapters of Scripture (far more concrete than last year).
  6. Run several times a week (the goal is to run a 5K before June and another one by the end of the year).
  7. Learn to play the guitar. (It’s so much easier to carry around than a piano!)
  8. Pursue going – whether that means short-term trips (lots of ideas and opportunities floating around) or actually figuring out the where of long-term…
  9. Continue learning – about Jesus, about missions, about midwifery, about public health, about ministry in cities.  Oh, and anything else the Lord wants to throw in here, too. :-)
  10. Simplify, organize, clean-out, purge – whatever it takes to remove the extraneous junk from my life.  I want it to be evident that my eyes and heart are fixed on an eternity with Jesus – not here with a lot of stuff. :-)
3 Responses to “10 for 2010”

  1. I love it! You’ve inspired me to write my own :-)
    And… I’m starting a blog: thequiescentcairn.wordpress.com
    where you can see my list. once I’ve made it.

  2. 2 Heidi

    Hi Susanna! I’ve loved reading your posts!!! It is such a blessing to hear about what God is doing in your heart, and I look forward to reading more!!! :]


  1. 1 Hello world! « A rolling stone gathers no Moss

Leave a Reply

