A Letter to Friends

18Nov09

The Global Missions Health Conference was incredible this year.  It always is.  But this time was different for me – I actually felt like I was part of a community.  Of the 22 in our group, I knew 16 before we went (like had met them more than once or had worked on a project together).  We hung out together – sat together, ate together, and stayed up late together.  For the first time in my life, I felt like I had brothers and sisters who really cared about me and who I would continue to see even after the conference was over.  God has begun moving in all of us, and I can’t wait to see where He’s taking us!

Here’s what I shared with my “extended family” yesterday. :-)

Hey Y’all!

Since you all were there and probably prayed for the Philly group as a whole, I just wanted to let you know how the Lord worked in my life at the conference – and since then. :-)

Going into the conference, I knew I was called to serve the Lord overseas.  Last year, if you’d asked me where I was called, I would have given you a country, a city, and a neighborhood in less time than it takes to snap your fingers.  But the Lord decided to change all that – slowly peeling my fingers off a “place” that I had clung to instead of clinging to Him.  This year when I arrived at the conference, it was HARD for me to not just walk right up to the map and put a green push-pin on “my” spot – because I didn’t have any idea where that spot was anymore.  Before I came, I’d had a few things on a to-do list – a list that I’d had since June or July.  I’d added things to the list, but never really crossed anything off.  I was stuck.  Inertia.

I knew God was at work even before we got the conference – saw fingerprints everywhere. :-)  However, I had no idea how much He would move!  From the very first song – “Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord, we will wait upon the Lord, we will wait upon the Lord…” – it was an emotional conference.  Thanks for the hugs and prayers – it was so awesome to be there with people I knew!

Saturday morning’s plenary by David Stevens was, as usual, powerful.  I’ve written on those little cards before – I have three in my Bible now, including the one from Saturday.  But this time was just a little different – I’ll go where He sends me and not where I think I should go.  Surrendering that to the Lord all over again this weekend was a big deal for me.  It wasn’t easy (and it won’t be easy in the future!), but I know who I’m following and that He is utterly trustworthy.  Sometimes it takes kneeling at an altar to remember that my “big” dreams are so small in comparison to God’s dreams, God’s plans.  That’s how it was this weekend.

So coming home, I knew two things from my to-do list needed to get DONE before tomorrow [Wednesday].  Hallelujah, God is SOOO good, I was able to finish both today [Tuesday]!  The first is that I have submitted my preliminary application for long-term service to Interserve (www.interserveusa.org), and the second is that I finally got my résumé to someone who asked for it two weeks ago – so God (aka Terry Kay) will not have to call me. ;-)  It’s done.  Now it’s in the Lord’s hands!!

So please pray for me as I step into this next period of waiting.  I don’t know what’s ahead, I don’t know where I’m going, but I am WAY more excited about life than I ever have been before.  It’s such a cool feeling. :-)

Who’s up for starting a Philly Missionary Farm?  Wait, there’s a squirrel!

May God’s hand rest upon as you seek His face!

Prayers and Blessings,
Susanna
Psalm 37

No Responses Yet to “A Letter to Friends”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

