Dreams

17Jul09

So lately I’ve been thinking a lot about what the future may hold.  I guess having an application for full-time cross-cultural outreach on my desk is a part of that, but so too is getting back into midwifery and going back to the hospital.  There are lots of things I’d like to do with my life.  If I were writing my story, some of those things would already be checked off.  However, I’m not writing my story – the Lord is.

Tonight I took the time to write down every single dream I currently have for my life.  It was a bit of a long list.  I’m not going to share what the list contained, except that it was a rather eclectic mix of practicality and whimsy (the whimsy being rather unusual for me, as many of you know).  Once the list was as complete as I felt it could get, I prayed through it, verbally giving every item I’d listed back to God.  If He wants those things to come to pass, He is holding the pencil and writing the story, and I’ll let Him bring those dream-realities into my life in His perfect timing.  If the dreams are going to remain but dreams, I know that someday I’ll understand why.  Perhaps not on this side of eternity, but someday…

I put the list in my journal.  I know in the days ahead, I will have to prayerfully give those dreams up again and again.  That’s how life goes.  I’ll also add to the list, asking the Lord for grace to continue in the path He has set before me.  There will be days where I’ll feel hopeless and helpless when I contemplate my dreams vs. reality, and it’s for those days that I’m including a few things to remind me of God’s faithfulness.

Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.  Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life.  If anyone serves me, he must follow me; and where I am, there will my servant be also.  If anyone serves me, the Father will honor him.

–John 12:24-26 (ESV)

“My rest is in heaven, my rest is not here,
Then why should I murmur at trials severe?
Be tranquil, my spirit, the worst that can come
But shortens thy journey and hastens thee home.

“Let trouble and danger my progress oppose
They’ll only make heaven more bright at the close,
Come joy, then, or sorrow – whate’er may befall
One moment in glory will make up for all.

“A scrip on my back and a staff in my hand,
I march on in haste through an enemy’s land;
The road may be rough, but it cannot be long;
I’ll smooth it with hope, and I’ll cheer it with song.”

Anonymous/Early American (1868)

No Responses Yet to “Dreams”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

