Lancaster :-)

08Jul09

Since today was Wednesday (for anyone who forgot…), I spent the day in Lancaster.  This week, I managed to find a camera with charged batteries and available memory before I left at 0700 (!!).  Because most of the families we care for are Amish, you won’t see any pictures of preggo moms or newborn babes.  But at least you’ll get a sense of the clinic and surrounding area.  It was a busy day!

Good morning, Lancaster County!

Good morning, Lancaster County!

A common sight on Lancaster roads...

A common sight on Lancaster roads...

Horse-and-buggy.  Amish transportation.

Horse-and-buggy. Amish transportation.

This is the stone farmhouse where clinic takes place every Wednesday.

This is the stone farmhouse where clinic takes place every Wednesday.

The waiting room (cleared out during lunch).

The waiting room (cleared out during lunch).

One of two exam rooms (no, we do not put two people in here at once...)

One of two exam rooms (no, we do not put two people in here at once...)

These are baby slings - one of the best inventions, EVER.  Today I had the charge of several different fussy babies (all under 8 weeks of age) (and not at the same time).  I popped each one into the sling - they settled within moments and were asleep within minutes, and I was able to continue my work, hands-free of baby. :-)  So maybe these should be called happy-baby-things and not slings...

These are baby slings - one of the best inventions, EVER. Today I had the charge of several different fussy babies (all under 8 weeks of age) (and not at the same time). I popped each one into the sling - they settled within moments and were asleep within minutes, and I was able to continue my work, hands-free of baby. :-) So maybe these should be called happy-baby-things and not slings...

Coming home. :-)  (You should see all the ones I *didn't* post - driving and camera and Solanco roads... Hehe).  The corn (and other crops!) is GREEN and GROWING!

Coming home. :-) (You should see all the ones I *didn't* post - driving and camera and Solanco roads... Hehe). The corn (and tobacco!) is GREEN and GROWING!

Back in my little corner of the world, blogging about my day. :-)  Oh, and I'm wearing my crunchy granola t-shirt - it says, "SaveHomeBirth.com" :-)

Back in my little corner of the world, blogging about my day. :-) Oh, and I'm wearing my crunchy granola t-shirt - it says "SaveHomeBirth.com" :-)

One Response to “Lancaster :-)”

  1. 1 Erin

    Sounds like a good, fulfilling day!


Leave a Reply

