Normal Things

06Jul09

The past few days have been absolutely lovely. I have enjoyed so very much the simple pleasures of summer time.  Cool breezes, warm sunshine – I think it makes up for the three weeks of rain we had in June!  I’ve been thinking a bit how life probably won’t ever be “normal” (in the sense that most people use the word) for me, but right now I’m okay with that. :-)

Friday night I had the opportunity to spend time with family and friends (so thankful I didn’t have to go into work!) – oh, to laugh!!

Saturday morning was a flurry of activity as we re-packed Jean’s suitcase(s) twice before she eventually left for the airport – and a month in Texas.

Saturday afternoon I took a nap!!!

After the nap, I enjoyed spending time with Gram, who was up for the 4th.

We had a quiet 4th (no fireworks!), but we got a lot accomplished.  My dad and brother started working on the sailboats/trailer – we’re hoping to have them ready to go before the summer is entirely over. :-)

I sat outside after dark (hooray for DEET!!) and watched the bats swoop ’round.  We like bats around here – as long as they stay outside.

Sunday morning I was up early and out of the house with three sisters, two watermelons, 15 pounds of grilled chicken, four loaves of bread, and salad fixins’ before 8am.  :-)

“My” Sunday school first, second, and third graders are really getting the hang of our character focus for the past few weeks – attentiveness. Besides, they’re just plain fun!

I got to sit with a friend and fellow aspiring midwife during church. ;-)

The monthly Healthcare Fellowship lunch was a success (hence the food…).

Today was a wonderful day to have off.  Enjoyed my run, the porch, the patio, and being barefoot.  And made a nutritious dinner with leftovers and veggies that were overstocked (nothing from the garden… yet).

I’m almost through Psalms, and today I had two of my favorite verses: “They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.  He that goeth forth and weepeth, bearing precious seed, shall doubtless come again with rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him.”  (126:5-6).

Life’s going to get overwhelmingly busy again soon.  It always does.  But that makes these times of quietness and “normalcy” so much sweeter.  Thank you, Lord, for rest!

No Responses Yet to “Normal Things”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

