Feast or Famine

28May09

Life has a way of always feeling feastorfamine.  I ran it all together for the sake of emphasis…  I’m back at the hospital, absolutely loving it (most of the time!).  Had a crazy day yesterday (there were no labor beds available by the time I left!) and then today I was going insane because there was nothing to do.  And tomorrow I’m back to being  a “real” nurse again. :-)  It’s nice to have one thing in life settled.  I realized yesterday that the other nurses, doctors, and staff members on L&D and maternity are really another “family” – I have my biological family, my faith family, and my work family (and there is some overlap, which is really neat).  It’s nice to be in a place where I’m a “known entity” – I belong there.  It’s great to be back.

So because my job is part-time, I have the opportunity to explore other things that are, perhaps, a little closer to the edge of my comfort zone.  Having the solidarity of a job I know and love is giving me courage to explore what the Lord might have for me in the next 12 or so months. :-)  I’m not yet ready to publish all of what I hope to do (or even what I think I might hope to do), but I will say that I’m praying about applying to MTW before the summer is over, and would greatly appreciate your prayers for that.  There are three other big-ish things simmering, two of which will probably kick into high gear starting in June.  Maybe all three.  I don’t know.  So please pray for me as I seek to juggle opportunities and training and work and ministry over the next few months.

I’m learning to put into practice what I heard at the Tenth Healthcare Fellowship lunch in April – “Balance may not always be the Godly goal.”  Oh, how relieved I was to hear that!!

One Response to “Feast or Famine”

  1. 1 Erin

    Sounds like a good full week :-) And I do love that quote at the end – I think I’ll write that down… :-)


Leave a Reply

