January Wrap-Up

31Jan09

Well, here it is – the end of January.  The month went so much faster than I was expecting!  So throughout 2009, I plan to review each month and see how I’m doing with those 10 things I hope to do this year.  January was a pretty good month (thank you, Lord!) with a few extra blessings thrown in for good measure.  But isn’t that just like God?!

So before I review, here are 10 reasons to praise God at the end of January:

  1. For His faithfulness (Lamentations 3:22-23).
  2. For family.  Here at home, we discovered the joys of Scrabble during our first-ever movie-free January. :-)  Today is also a day when we remember Granddad, who passed away January 31, 2003.  I still miss him so very much.
  3. For “family.”  The household of faith, especially those that gather regularly at 17th and Spruce
  4. For fellowship with other believers.  The weekend at Sandy Cove was a breath of fresh air for me.
  5. For encouragement to continue pursuing my calling.  Over the past few days I’ve started realizing that some of the frustration I’ve been experiencing comes from not being able to fix things in my life and in the lives of those around me.  As Paul Tripp put it, it’s part of being “in between the already and the not-yet.”  So in the stretching of waiting to see God fix things, I’m having to learn to rest and wait and trust.  It’s been encouraging just to recognize this!
  6. For prayer.  Knowing people are praying for me can sometimes give me renewed energy to get through a day.  And what a joy it can be to bring others before the throne of grace!
  7. For the snow and the cold.  Even in the wonderful Delaware Valley – where we get cold snaps without any snow and then snow that turns to rain because it finally gets above freezing again.  The snow and cold brings such a powerful reminder that even in the “winter” of life, there is beauty if I am willing to see beauty.
  8. That it is the end of January. :-)  In three months’ time, I might be able to wear a short-sleeved shirt once again without needing two or three layers over the shirt to maintain my body temperature. ;-)
  9. For the opportunity I have ever day to share the gospel in word and deed.  In the past few weeks, I’ve had multiple chances to speak the good news – the hope – of the gospel of Jesus Christ to those who are without any visible hope.  What a privilege!
  10. For the normal things. :-)  A job, trains that usually run on schedule, a home, music, a heart that keeps beating, lungs that keep working, and neurons that do their job, among other things.
-)  December 2007.

Here are 10 "things" I'm grateful for right here. :-) December 2007.

Ah, so now for the review.

You can see the original post here.

  1. I’ve read through all of Genesis and 36 chapters of Exodus (only four to go to finish) in Spanish.
  2. A very patient sister sat with me last night to hear me quote Psalm 37, which I re-memorized from three years ago.
  3. No progress on this one.
  4. I’ve been reading From Jerusalem to Irian Jaya on the train.
  5. I’m hoping to be on the Tenth short-term team to Colombia August 6-17.
  6. Perspectives starts next Monday!
  7. I’m registered for MTW’s Advanced Medical Leadership Training, which will take place in Mexico, April 18-26.
  8. January has been a month of, well, being more extroverted than normal. :-)  It’s good for maintaining relationships, I think…
  9. Two of my sisters have kindly started working with me on a violin-duet-with-piano-accompaniment – a beautiful suite by Moszkowski.
  10. This one hasn’t been difficult.  And I’ve had lots of help. ;-)

What are you thankful for at the end of this first month of 2009?

2 Responses to “January Wrap-Up”


  1. 1 February Wrap-Up « 10 Cosas: Exploring the Call to Missions
  2. 2 March Wrap-Up « 10 Cosas: Exploring the Call to Missions

Leave a Reply

